Searching For Structure in Memoir

What did I learn from what I went through?

Cindy Heath
4 min readOct 14, 2022
image by the author on Canva.com

For three long years, I’ve been learning to write a memoir, and what an adventure it has been.

I planned to start at the beginning and just keep going until I reached eighteen. My initial goal was to share my childhood spent homesteading in Alaska and preserve those memories for my family.

But then I read The Memoir Project by author and writing coach Marion Roach Smith and realized my approach would result in a story to put even my family to sleep.

Does a memoir need a plot?

An argument? A Universal Truth? It was a lot to absorb.

Smith teaches aspiring memoirists to develop an algorithm for their projects. It goes like this: What I needed + what I tried = what worked to achieve my need.

This process not only creates the X + Y = Z but also fits into a traditional three-act structure format.

Why would you care about the details of my life?

People read stories, and yes—a memoir is a story. And a memorable tale takes the reader on a journey from one place to another.

--

--

Cindy Heath

I’ve been a farmer, entrepreneur, writer, and more. I'm passionate about nutrition, health, nature, and the rewards of personal writing.